Hacker Neus
Hacker Neus
Hi HN,

I created kew, a music player for the Linux terminal.

This started when I asked myself: what if I could just type something like "play nirvana" in the terminal and have the rest taken care of automatically? That got the ball rolling and I kept adding stuff: covers in ascii and then as sixel images, a playlist view, a visualizer, a library view and finally search.

While kew can be used as a commandline tool, it has evolved into a TUI app.

Here are some example commands:

kew nirvana # Plays all of your Nirvana songs, shuffled

kew nevermind # Plays the "Nevermind" album in order

kew spirit # Plays "Smells Like Teen Spirit"

kew all # Plays all your music, shuffled

kew albums # Plays one album after the other in random order

It works best when your music library is organized like this: Artist/Album(s)/Track(s)

kew is written in C and licensed under GPLv2.

Source and screenshot: https://github.com/ravachol/kew