Hacker Neus
Hacker Neus
Dear HN,

I’m excited to show case a personal project. It has helped me quite a bit with my home lab, I hope it can help you with yours too! ffmpeg-over-ip has two components, a server and a client. You can run the server in an environment with access to a GPU and a locally installed version of ffmpeg, the client only needs network access to the server and no GPU or ffmpeg locally.

Both and client and the server need a shared filesystem for this to work (so the server can write output to it, and client can read from it). In my usecase, smb works well if your (GPU) server is a windows machine, nfs works really well for linux setups.

This utility can be useful in a number of scenarios:

- You find passing through a (v)GPU to your virtual machines complicated

- You want to use the same GPU for ffmpeg in multiple virtual machines

- Your server has a weak GPU so you want to use the GPU from your gaming machine

- Your GPU drivers in one OS are not as good as another (AMD RX6400 never worked for me in linux, but did so in windows)

I’ve posted some instructions in the Github package README, please let me know if they are unclear in any way and I’ll try to help!

Here's the link: https://github.com/steelbrain/ffmpeg-over-ip